Operation: Minimalist.

Aside from getting mentally prepared for my next journey, I need to get focused on earning as much money as possible. To be honest, I’m not really worried. I’ve been applying to temp agencies in San Francisco, the Peninsula, the East Bay, LA and San Diego. I’m also still applying to the odd college tutor and instructor posting, and I’ve been keeping my eye on craigslist. I’m fully confident that something wonderful will come along.

I’m also really open to selling my stuff. I’m a bit of a hoarder (I wonder where I got that tendency?) and a bit selfish with my things (to put it gently), but I’m pretty excited about this task. I’ve always been attracted to the Buddhist teachings of minimalism, but there’s this selfish packrat inside of me (or maybe a bag lady) that’s always made it hard for me to let go. This isn’t going to be especially painless, so a bunch of reasons and a couple of goals are going to make it easier.

I know this step is important for my own growth. According to the Buddhists, attachment is a source of suffering; therefore, to let go of attachment is to increase happiness. A person who is a minimalist also finds less distraction when practicing mindfulness. These reasons seem pretty wonderful, but I’ve known about them for a long time and still I have a bunch of stuff that I don’t want or need. Since my main goal right now is to get clear and focused, I think keeping this in mind will help me let go.

I can consider that on an altruistic level getting rid of my things will make my parents happy. They mentioned to me more than a few times how selfish it was of my to leave my belongings at their house while I was abroad last year. Once I’ve cut down, I’ll be helping my parents: another way to layer my motivation.

I’ve been making a mental list of all the things I can sell: clothes, shoes, jewelry, my backpack, and furniture. On a side note, I’m not going to be greedy about it. For instance, my sister, Karenna, has a few of my things and I don’t mind her keeping anything she wants. Additionally, even though I’m going to exhaust every resource to earn money for my personal effects, I’ll donate anything I’m ready to part with but can’t sell.

I was thinking that I’d wait until I got home to sort my possessions, but I figure that today would be a great day to start. I have everything in my backpack and my suitcase set to go through. My goal is to make enough to buy a new backpack ($200.00 before taxes). I know I will be willing to let go of the things I don’t really want or use for a new backpack.

Anyway, I’m going to go through the things I have with me in LA now. I’ll keep you updated!

Much Love,

Che

2 thoughts on “Operation: Minimalist.

  1. Stop already! You are not leaving for awhile, so cool your jets about disgracing everything, okay? This is too final for me.

    • What am I disgracing? I’m just getting rid of the things I don’t want or need. Even if I was going to stay I wouldn’t want this extra stuff. I think it’s a great way for me to have a deeper meditation practice!

Leave a Reply

