Fun and Suffering

The past weekend was filled with fun…and suffering from that fun.

On Thursday night, I went to my cousin Jordan’s house to drink beers and watch “Breaking Bad.” I was in a great mood. We had finished our first week of classes (me as a teacher, Jordan and his roomies as students). I owed Jordan a few beers, so I bought him two sixers of his favorites. After we finished most of the beers a pizza ad came on the TV.

“Let’s get pizzaaaaa!” I shouted.

“Naaah,” Jordan said.

“Dude. I’ll pay.”

Jordan looked at me dubiously.

“What? I’ve got a good job. I can buy us some pizza.”

We spent the next fifteen minutes (at least) looking through all the pizza coupons. At the beginning of the school year, there are always boxes and boxes of coupon books circulating our campus.

We came up with certain criteria: they had to deliver and we had to get the most bang for our buck. I was willing to spend up to $30, but my cousin insisted we spend less than $20.

“I dunno, cuz. I mean, we have to feed four guys and one girl who eats a lot,” I told him.

“An extra large should be fine,” Jordan insisted.

We decided to go with Woodstock’s, the best pizza in town. We got an extra large five-topping pizza and a medium cinnamon bread for $15…it wasn’t enough food.

And for whatever reason, I didn’t go to sleep until well past 4 am.

The next day, I woke up really early because I had slept on my cousin’s couch. Aching and slightly hung over, I ran a couple errands and made it back to the ranch.

By the time I got home, my ranch-mates were all getting the place ready for the party they were throwing that night. I felt bad, but I couldn’t help! I was just too tired, so I slept until late in the afternoon.

The party at the ranch was amazing! We had free yoga, live music, an acrobatics show, fire dancers, hula hoopers, a fire pit, and unlimited beer and wine!

Needless to say, I spent Saturday completely wrecked. Maybe I’m getting too old for this!

Luckily, I had all of Sunday to do schoolwork!

Leave a Reply

